The “Big” 50. A Half Century.

Everyone talks about getting older. It’s a fact of life. And while it’s true that as we get older, we get wiser because of our first-hand experiences and how we’ve lived up to that point, it’s when we’re hitting certain milestones that some of us (ahem…me) start to freak out. Just a bit.

We typically recognize some milestones for what they represent:

  • 16 is “Sweet Sixteen” – at least it was when I was a kid. I’m not sure I want to know what they call it today. It’s also when we could get our learner’s permit to terrorize the streets of our cities
  • 18 is when we could vote.
  • In Canada, 19 was when we could legally drink.
  • After that, it’s usually just the decades milestones: 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90…

You know the old adage: Age is just a number. Sure it is, but when you’re body is telling that you’re actually older than you are, it’s time to make some changes. And I’m doing that. But it’s hard to not look back in the past and wonder the “what ifs”. Believe me, I’ve had those thoughts for many years whether it’s about losing weight or my failed marriage. It’s been a struggle but I’m trying to live my life to its fullest and no dwell on the past; the “what ifs” because right now – today – there isn’t anything at all any of us can do to change that. That’s why it’s called the “past”. It’s behind us. Let’s leave it there.

Many look to the future in their planning of their lives. Some say to only look at the “now”; what’s happening to them today, and look no further beyond that. I’m somewhere in the middle of those thoughts. I’m concentrating on where I am today, but I’m also trying to look forward to my future. That I’ll not only HAVE a future, but that I’ll be healthier in my future – more than I am today.

And maybe there’ll be other new things in my future: moving back home to Canada, having a relationship, spending more time with my mom, family and friends. Nothing drastic. Nothing unattainable. Nothing that’s impossible. Even the weight loss.

So, while age is just a number, the next number in line for me age-wise is one of the BIG ones. The Big Five-O. The Half-Century. <—And holy does that phrase give me chills!

That’s happening in 94 days or 8,121,600 seconds or 135,360 minutes or 2,256 hours or 13 weeks and 3 days. No matter how you slice it…it’s coming.

zzz-s-20

So yep, on May 25th I’m turning 50. 

I really am trying to not let that stupid number bother me. I’ve tried joking that I’m too immature to be 50, which incidentally, is the God-honest truth. I’ve tried joking that even if I’m turning 50 that nearly all of my first cousins are older than me. I’ve even tried to suggest that because I don’t look like I’m about to turn 50, the number must be wrong.

But alas, it isn’t. I’m turning 50. And immaturity aside, I will do what I can to come to grips with it. 🙂

One of the interesting things about getting older is that your body starts to rebel. There’s a line and once you cross it, there’s no turning back. Just some of the things that happen to our bodies as we get older:

  • menopause (obviously for women only)
  • brittle bones
  • graying hair
  • lower metabolism
  • aching joints

Even losing weight the older you get becomes harder. So when you’re my weight, most people don’t live to be very old. Their bodies give out on them long before their minds might. And I’ve said it before – I want to live as long as I possibly can.

So, I’m doing something about it now. Because 50 isn’t really THAT old. Is it?

Yes, it becomes harder to lose weight as you get older, but it’s not impossible. With determination, passion, guts and courage – we can fight this battle. And win.

I can win.

0a36ac16416ba164a7f607e168aad33b

So, that’s not to say that you can’t at least enjoy getting older. That you can’t, at least, still play and have fun. Why can’t you? What’s stopping you?

Nothing. Abso-fucking-lutely nothing. Because…

What’s the point of continuing living, if you’re only living to die.

No matter how you feel physically, find the joy in something. Let you mind overtake your body and rule your happiness. Because it’s usually your mind that is telling you that you’re old – not your body. Aches and pains are natural. Everyone has them.

It’s up to you to decide how to live the rest of your life from this point forward. Choose wisely. Choose to live your life to its fullest, no matter your age right now. Choose to enjoy the journey that you have left – for however long that is – so that not a minute more is wasted.

30a506e7faa4a14f0cb6f9046f2bb311

That is my wish for you and something that I am going to strive to do every day for the rest of my life.

Let the negativity go. Don’t dwell on the past. Find the funny in even the most ridiculous situations.

And above all else – Love. One. Another.

Blessings and joy to all. I’m ready for 50.

Bring it!

#ROYL

Love,

Dani

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Danielle R.

An enigma. Try to figure me out. Pessimistic optimist of happily every after or close to it. A wanna-be writer, animal lover and ferocious friend.

Posted on February 22, 2016, in Weightloss Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I lost my weight and kept it off when I was in my 60’s. I turned 65 last Sept.and I’m very active, I also went to a luau party over the weekend and won the hula contest and prize. You can do anything you want only you can let age get in your way. It is only a number just like the scale is only a number. Enjoy life, Barb

    Like

  2. It is just a number!!! Nothing more…
    Dani, you are spot on!
    Love this blog!
    Look forward to reading it.
    I laugh. I cry. I enjoy. I learn.
    Keep it up.
    Your inspiring to us all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

