It’s The Little Things

sometimes-we-get-so-caught-up-in-trying-to-accomplish-something-big-that-we-fail-to-notice-the-little-things-that-give-life-its-magic-quote-1

Sometimes it’s not the big wins that mean the most. Sometimes, just sometimes, it’s a significant small one that can mean the difference between win and lose. And mostly certainly: Success or Failure.

I bet if you asked a professional athlete who has won a Super Bowl Ring, a World Series Ring or the Stanley Cup what the best game of their life was, while I’m sure they’d tell you that the game that cinched the win for them was the ultimate, I bet some might even have a different answer. I bet that some might tell you it’s the game that they came from behind to win that got them to the final game. Or where the team overcame tough obstacles, such as the loss of a significant player and still won the championship. It’s those games that matter just as much, if not more than the actual winning game. Because it’s in those types of games that one finds something within themselves that makes them push forward. Makes them fight for what they want.

It’s those types of games that shows a person who they are. What they are made of. Even if they didn’t recognize it in themselves before. It wakes them up and tells them they matter. That they are important. And that they can do just about anything – if they are willing to try.

I’ve talked about “try” a lot in my blog postings before. Most recently how I was tired of “trying” because trying never really seemed to get me anywhere and that I wanted to just “do”. The flaw in my thinking is that until I cash in my chips or sit on the couch and call it a day, I am trying AND I am doing.

With every small change I make – consciously or not – I am still trying.But I’m also doing. Every time I go to the grocery store – as I did today – and I buy baby romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, lean chicken breasts, dates, apples and don’t buy Pepsi and chips – I’m trying. And I’m doing.

By the act of consciously buying those better-for-me-foods, I taking the steps I need to keep going on this journey. It shows I haven’t given up. And every time I do even the smallest of things – like walk an extra half mile or avoid going for fast food for lunch – I’m doing.

So until I throw my hands up and say I’m done, I realize that all this time that I’ve been trying – I’ve also been doing. Doing a series of little things that eventually should add up to success. I’ve battled to win the play-off game and I’m heading into the Championship.

So I know what my end goal is now and I know that anything I do now, no matter how insignificant it might seem sometimes – it really isn’t. Not when you look at the big picture. And that includes those moments that I might slip up – and we all know those happens – but now I think I’m of the frame of mind to not let that slip up ruin the overall picture of success.

As I said in my last post, Brandon Auret really helped me by giving me the push I needed to revamp my determination by showing HIS determination to get in shape for a role. It truly is amazing that something that might seem insignificant to someone else – a kind word, a smile or “hello” to a stranger or given a dollar to a homeless person – how much that little gesture, that little thing, might really help another person. As I said, I don’t think Brandon knew how much he’d influenced me until he read my blog. And yes, he read it. He seemed quite moved to find how much he had helped me and I was happy that he finally was able to see it with my written words.

I need to remember to celebrate the little things. The small, seemingly insignificant “wins” that normally I would write off and not consider to be very important. Because I’m finally beginning to see that they’re all “wins”.

So that being said, while I’m sure that many people wouldn’t normally brag about every little weight loss but I’m not going to be one of those people. I’m no longer going to preamble every post about one of my “wins” with a “but”.

So instead of saying, “I only lost x amount of weight this week…” or “I know it doesn’t seem like a lot but…” I’m no longer going to do that. I’m going to celebrate every loss no matter how insignificant it might seem to someone else. Because this is my life. This is my blog. And it’s MY loss. I did it. I did something to affect that loss so I’m going to celebrate it.

And I don’t care if there is someone out there who might scoff at my celebrations. Because they didn’t do it; I did.

So I’m happy to report that I lost THREE and a HALF pounds this past week!

And here’s me not saying, “I know it’s only 3.5 pounds…” or “I only lost 3.5 pounds this week…”

I LOST THREE AND A HALF FUCKING POUNDS THIS WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

tumblr_n39zna69TR1t04x43o1_500

I know it’s quite possible I will have a week where I don’t lose – in fact, I might gain – and there are many reason why that may have nothing to do with anything I might have done “wrong” so I’m not going to dwell on those week. But until then, I’m going to celebrate every little SIGNIFICANT change because they matter.

Because I matter. I finally am getting that.

Blessings and love to you all. And thank you again for being there for me. Always.

Love,

Dani

About Danielle R.

An enigma. Try to figure me out. Pessimistic optimist of happily every after or close to it. A wanna-be writer, animal lover and ferocious friend.

Posted on January 24, 2016, in Weightloss Journey. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Celebrating is a very good thing to do. You need this as it makes you feel good about what you accomplished. It doesn’t matter like you said if you lost,gained or stayed the same celebrate. I started doing things for me like fresh cut flowers, new clothing, pedicure or just about anything a least once a week. It makes me feel good about me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

