Slow Progress is still Progress

One of my biggest complaints about losing weight – when I’m actually losing it – is how damn slow it is; how long it takes. As I said in my previous post, it seems like it takes next to no time to GAIN weight and four times as long to lose that same weight. Just utter ridiculousness if you ask me.

So while it frustrates me to no end, as I also said, so long as the end result is still a downward progression of weight lost, I’m less likely to feel like I’m failing in my endeavor. That’s not to say, however, that I don’t still wish it would come off faster because in all honesty, there are times when I feel like I really don’t have a lot of time left in order to lose weight. You know what I mean? It’s like the sand in my hourglass is falling out way too fast.

I imagine I would lost more weight and faster if I was trying harder than I am, but then everyone tells me not to lose more than a pound or two a week. It’s what is sensible. It’s better for me. Well, given that some weeks mean a gain and not a loss, this doubles the frustration. Of course, I shouldn’t really expect anything more if I’m not giving 110%. I just wish my body would cooperate with my mind. My mind is going at Mach1 and if this weightloss was up to it, I’d already be at my weight goal. But alas, it’s not. So I deal with the exhaustion, the painful feet, joints and all that and do what I can. And I’m trying to convince myself that what I’m doing it enough – for me – considering the circumstances.

So with that in mind…

12115638_1003494303047429_897557360080366230_n

Must. Remind. Myself. Of. This. Often.

The November challenge – I think – is going well so far. I have two friends doing it with me and I wish more people would participate but I get it. And for those of us who are doing it, I think it will be of a big help. I’m already seeing how writing down all the little changes I might make in one day are adding up. And that a bunch of little changes is far better than none at all.

small-changes

It with that idea that I started to deal with how tired I was and how painful my feet were when I want to do something as innocuous as household chores. Talking to myself – more or less talking myself INTO something – encouraging to do just a little this time. Then maybe resting and trying some more. At first I honestly didn’t think I could do it but it’s worked remarkably well for me to get up and move.

Lapping-people-on-the-couch-300x266

I’m looking forward to the time when doing chores isn’t such a “chore” – that I can get it all done in a shorter time and not have to take breaks in between. That’s not to say that I’ll actually enjoy doing housework – who does – but at least it won’t seem so much like a mountain I have to conquer.

Who knows…maybe some day I will actually like to do housework.

dfas

HeeHee

Blessings to all.

Love,

Dani

About Danielle R.

An enigma. Try to figure me out. Pessimistic optimist of happily every after or close to it. A wanna-be writer, animal lover and ferocious friend.

Posted on November 3, 2015, in Weightloss Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

