The Do One Better November Challenge

I had meant to post this a couple of days ago and not on November 1st, but like they always say, the best of intentions…

In any case, before I go any further with this post, I forgot in my last couple of posts to tell everyone that I had lost a pound last weigh-in day (Monday the 26th) so at least it wasn’t a gain. And this morning I weighed in at the same so while I didn’t lose any – I also didn’t gain any. I’ll take it.

I was mentioning to Kimmy at work the other day about my lack of math skills. I was wondering how it was that I had 565 emails in my In Box at the start of the day and 4 hours later, having deleted 65 emails, I still had 535 emails!  Then I likened it to my weight loss/gain except somewhat in reverse. It takes me a month to gain 5 pounds, yet it takes me 4 months to lose 5 pounds.

yoda

While not exactly the math that I want to see, so long as the end result is that I’m down over-all, I suppose that will have to suffice because I know that in reality I will see ups and downs, I just hope for the sake of my sanity, I have more downs than ups.

Also I want to mention that I’ve received some interesting comments about the blog posting “A 5 pound bag of potatoes”. Even Dr. S mentioned that as she was taking a walk she was trying to imagine how many 5 pound bags of sugar (she used sugar as she used to eat a lot of it so it was familiar to her) she could carry. She pictured herself as she was walking actually carrying those extra bags, adding on a bag or two here and there, and she admitted that she hadn’t gotten very far with her imagining before she realized just how much more difficult that would be for her.  Others had told me that had experiences some weight gains, such as 15 pounds, and how much of a difference it made to their body – their joints and their overall health. So I think it was a good experiment to try to have everyone visualize – to give everyone an idea of the physical struggles of being morbidly obese. And thanks to those who said they had a better understanding of how I feel when i say that I’m exhausted and why.

So that being said, I want to do something in the month of November that I would love if any one of you who wants to do it with me, would join me. I think it would be a challenge sure, but I also think that the more people who join in, the more fun and less like work it will be. I want to called it “The Do One Better November Challenge”. Say that fast 5 times.

I started to think about this when I failed – yes I failed miserably – with stopping with drinking soda pop. My addiction got the better of me and it wasn’t long before I was back sucking them down. And while I’m somewhat disappointed in myself because of this, I don’t want to dwell on the fact that I didn’t do what I had wanted to do, but more that I’m going to keep trying. And I came to the realizing that in order to succeed at that one task (and any others), I had to do it more gradually. Baby steps. Because clearly “cold turkey” doesn’t work for me (and maybe doesn’t for most people) so what could I do that would help me to eventually stop drinking it but also help me to make all sorts of other changes that I need to make.

Because let’s face it, the more changes someone has to make, the more overwhelmed they become and give up. I find this to be true as well with all of the information “out there” on the web that talks about what you should or shouldn’t do to lose weight. Eat this. Don’t eat that. This is bad for you in one article, but in another it’s not bad for you. You need to eat this much a day or you need to reduce this each day. It can make a person go nuts – and since I’m already half-way there, this isn’t a giant leap for me.

So I came up with this month long challenge. If it’s successful – and I sure hope it will be – we’ll do it again in December with a slight twist.  But here’s what it’s about:

Every day for the month of November, I will make at least one smart decision relating to my health. It could be anything like the following:

  • drinking NO sugary drinks in a day
  • only drinking HALF of what I normally would drink of a sugary drink in a day
  • adding a vegetable (or more) to my meals/dinner
  • having a meatless day (for example, Meatless Monday)
  • trying something new (recipe or food)
  • cooking a meal(s)
  • recording an entire day of food in a food journal
  • walking 10 extra mins a day (or whatever increment or distance)
  • doing a yoga video
  • lift weights / use resistance bands for 15 mins
  • parking further away in parking lot
  • NOT buying a snack or eating something bad
  • swap out one food for another (Try Eating This…Instead of This) or do this instead of eating out of boredom

The list really could be endless. And I realize some don’t sound hard for some of you but for someone like me, everything on here is a challenge in some way to me. It’s all about making smart decisions and slowly making changes to my lifestyle. So just like with the thing that I do to talk myself into getting up and doing something, despite how tired I am, I want to start talking myself into making these smart decisions every day. I always seem to try to do too much, get overwhelmed and then fall back into bad habits. They say it takes 21 days to form a new habit so let’s use 30 in November and give it a go.

Of course the challenge for me is also to not eat even those “healthy foods” that might mean a spike in my blood sugar so while seemingly good-for-you, some foods due to their carb content I should avoid or limit as well. Popcorn. Apples. Whole wheat bread. Pasta. WTF?? This just adds to the overwhelming feeling of “what can I eat?” and just leads to say “forget it” and skip a meal because it’s just such a pain in the ass.

So I would really love it if people would join me on this challenge. I will make a tab to track the daily results for myself but if you’d like for me to track yours as well, I would be happy to (can be anonymous, initials or first name only). It would be fun to see what others are doing too to give ideas to everyone else that they might like to try.

The point it to build on it and try to keep making smart decisions. Maybe for December it means making at least TWO good decisions in a day. Who knows? The sky’s the limit.

And the more smart decisions made in a day, the better.

So what do you say?

It’s starts today. The idea is that I will update it the next morning for all of the previous day Smart Choices. I’m going to post my own on a tab on my blog site. I’ve already added one from this morning. If I do nothing else the rest of the day, the day’s challenge has been met, but I hope to do more than one each day, and will try to do so.

I hope some of you will join me. Message me either via Facebook, Twitter, email (dani052566@gmail.com) or on here if you’re interested. And any ideas anyone else has would be greatly appreciated.

I’m also creating a tab of helpful things I’ve found that I’d like to share with everyone. The first thing on the tab will be what to do when you have a sugar craving.

Have a wonderful Sunday. Sending blessings and love to all.

Love,

Dani

About Danielle R.

An enigma. Try to figure me out. Pessimistic optimist of happily every after or close to it. A wanna-be writer, animal lover and ferocious friend.

Posted on November 1, 2015, in Weightloss Journey. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

