The Pharmacy that is my medicine cabinet

I have to start tonight’s posting with something good that happened. I hope that this is something I can do every post and I will try to always find something good in every day.

I had a doctor’s appointment this morning. While I was pleased with my pound and a half loss the other day, I liken the long walk to doctor’s scale to a long walk to the guillotine. And while I saw what came up on the scale – and was very proud of myself for not cringing or thinking badly of myself – I really didn’t know how I did until the doctor came in. So there I sat. Waiting. I even dug out my phone to check when the last time I was in the office and found out it was exactly 2 months yesterday.

Honestly, I’m not sure I’ve ever had a great experience at the doctor’s office (mammogram anyone?), but I would love to see the expression that my doctor had on her face when she came into the room EVERY DAMN TIME I am in her office from now on.

Two months and I’m down 9 pounds in that time. Not only that but my glucose levels dropped significantly to where they are now in the normal range and my A1C (3 months glucose test) dropped from 7.4 to 6.4!

Now I honestly can’t say exactly what I did in those two months to drop that weight because I don’t believe I was trying very hard. I was struggling to get my head on straight, feeling overwhelmed at every turn, and praying to just NOT gain more weight. As well, I think I have to credit a new med I’m now on.

And that leads me into the main topic of tonight’s post. Medications.

I take a lot of medications. And I hate it. Over the past 5 years the number of meds that I have to take has tripled. Most, if not all of them, are a direct result of my weight and the health issues that came about because of all that weight. I’m told that as the weight drops off, I will be able to get off most of the meds and while my overall goal is obviously to lose weight and be healthy, it’s also to get off all the God-forsaken medications.

I am not a big proponent of unnecessary medications. It seems in this day and age, there is a pill for everything. And while those that I take I’ve pushed to avoid as long as I could, given the results for the better I can’t knock that they are working for me.

For now.

Believe you me, I will be off these as soon as I can be. I’ll have to tell you the story someday of the conversation between a former doctor and Dr. S, who both knew of my utter dislike for medications and whether or not I would go for the idea of taking depression medication. Apparently, I’m stubborn. Who knew??

This is a pic of all the meds I currently take:

11995506_10204008906616797_96275207_n

Don’t just count the number of bottles. You see, of some of those, I take more than one at a time.

So what’s so wrong with my body that I need all of these meds?

Let’s start with what isn’t in the picture. I have sleep apnea. When I went to the Sleep Center for the overnight testing, it took all of 45 mins before the technician came in and put me on the machine. See, I stopped breathing every approximate 17 seconds in a minute. Every 17 second. In a minute! Now being somewhat claustrophobic, I might have fought it a bit. In any case, I have been on that machine ever since. It’s the only reason I can fall into a deep enough sleep to actually feel rested – otherwise I wake up every few seconds and never hit REM.

So the medicines I take are for high blood pressure, high cholesterol, high glucose (two different meds – one a twice-daily injection into my thighs or stomach), depression, and vitamin deficiencies because I can’t absorb them from foods (B6, B12 done by injection in the stomach monthly by me), Folic acid, D3) to avoid anemia and lastly thyroid.

None of the bloodwork from today registered “high” for the first time in years, save for the A1C but she said for someone like me 6.4 is amazing – so we’re not counting that! 😉

Now, I know there are a lot of people out there that believe in holistic medicines, and I am completely for anyone who believes in their healing properties. I respect your viewpoints and beliefs. That’s not to say that I don’t necessarily believe but I didn’t start taking those medications without a lot of consideration. And not for lack of trying other methods.

But for now, these seem to be working and the news from my doctor today that I can eventually stop taking them is Heaven to my ears.

I am looking forward to many things when I love all this weight and one of them is to be done as many as I can, including the CPAP machine.

Because nothing screams “sexy” more than a machine with a 6 foot tube attached to your face/head. 

I’m off to bed. It’s already well past my bedtime for a work night. And I’m just getting too old to even try to stay awake.

Blessings to all. xoxo

(notice I said “when I lose”, not “if I lose”…progress?!)

About Danielle R.

An enigma. Try to figure me out. Pessimistic optimist of happily every after or close to it. A wanna-be writer, animal lover and ferocious friend.

Posted on September 9, 2015, in Weightloss Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

